top of page
Buscar
Foto del escritorMarina Bocero Guerrero

The new era of journalism

Marina Bocero Guerrero




Evolution. A single word can imply great things. Good or bad, but great. Journalism has been caught up in this hurricane, greatly changing what it started out to be and is today. In the face of these changes, online journalism appeared, gaining more and more strength, and with it importance. Global digitalization has meant that the entire environment has had to adapt, including the media.


Immediacy came into our lives, allowing journalists to inform and for the rest of us to be aware of any event regardless of time or place. Even without newspapers, without televisions... we have the information in our hands, literally. However, it is also necessary to keep an eye on the situation, as this digitalization is leading to the deprofessionalization of the profession. This allows the increase of disinformation and fake news. Journalists have a big job to do.


I remember the first time I thought about journalism in a serious way. I was ten years old, more or less. But it was just that, a simple idea. It was not until I was thirteen that it all started to take hold. Since I was very young I have always practiced many sports: skiing, swimming, tennis, paddle, volleyball, golf... among many others. Sports were my passion and I was preparing myself to dedicate professionally to them. As I said, it was at the age of 13 that all changed. I was seriously injured with a chronic tumor that prevented me from continuing to train and compete at the level and endurance required for elite sport. So, looking to stay in touch with what I considered my life, I decided that I wanted to turn the idea that had been in my head since I was 7 years old into a reality. My current goal is to dedicate myself to sports journalism.


The future journalists have the obligation and responsibility to understand and adapt to online journalism in depth, know how it works and how to get the best out of it to offer better journalism. Therefore, extensive knowledge and use could make a difference. The difference.

Comments


bottom of page