top of page
Buscar
Foto del escritorMaría Águila Albendea

Online journalism


My name is María Águila, I am a student and future (hopefully) journalist. When I say that, the question of “oh, in which field?” always comes, however, I have no idea of which I would choose. The only thing I am totally convinced of is that I want to help people be truthy informed, for them to make their own decisions, to be free and literate, which I think is very important, especially nowadays, that we are continuously receiving information, contradictory data, which is driving people crazy.


I think that online journalism is the new way of dealing with information. First, we had newspapers, radio was later incorporated, television as the next step... Nowadays, we are in the digital era, with the Internet ahead.

It does not mean that traditional media will disappear, it is not substitution but addition.

In my opinion, nowadays journalists have the role of transmitting information and representing reality through all those media. However, digital media is unsettling the traditional media in consumption statistics, therefore, if we want to be journalists, online journalism is the key field in which we should pay more attention when setting our news.

Although we can name a huge quantity of disadvantages of online journalism, such as fake news, unspecialized people as “journalists”, the employment loss… In my view, digital life is a reality, everyone is on the internet at all time, our phones and computers are our third hand. They have made our life easier, we are more accessible to any kind of content, and consumers are also able to watch more content than they would do with traditional media. We, as journalists, must use online journalism for promoting truthful and accurate information, and raise the importance of journalism.



María Águila Albendea



Comentários


bottom of page