top of page
Buscar
Foto del escritorJaime Barrionuevo Pineda

Celia López:"Not everyone can do online journalism"


Celia López

Celia López is a young journalist specialiced in political journalism in online media. She coordinates in fact all the politics section at TimeJust, an online media by and for young people. In this interview with DailyView she narrates all the achievements she has made through online journalism, shares some thoughts about this world, mistakes and possible improvements, and some very thought-provoking reflections.


Question: What does online journalism mean to you? Why?


Answer: I wouldn't want to give you the typical answer that it means everything to me, but the truth is that it means everything to me. Online journalism is my life, my work and my, I hope, future. My first steps after journalism school were already in this modality, when it was still uncommon, and today I run a whole political section in a media made by and for young people, TimeJust. Although it has been a hard road, not as easy as if I had chosen to work for a traditional media, today I already get invitations to press conferences and events, interviews with different important politicians, etc. In fact, thanks to my work in online journalism I managed to interview the former president of Andalusia, Susana Díaz. I always like to brag about this when I can because for me it was unimaginable when I finished my degree.


Q: Why choose online journalism and not more traditional journalism, television, radio?


A: Well, good question. If you want me to be honest, it was mainly because getting a job in traditional media is very complicated. I love television in particular, but at least for me, after doing my internship, it was something unattainable. And the way to be able to continue practicing journalism and open doors in the world was through online journalism. And I think I made the right decision.


Q: Do you think it has democratized journalism and the opportunities in it, or not?


A: I am one of those who believe that online journalism serves to democratise a profession that was becoming increasingly closed to new entrants. It has helped us not to leave the power of information to the same old people. There are very good examples of good journalism that are purely online in nature. I always like to look at the work done by the teams of "elDiario.es", "El Confidencial", etc., and to keep them in my sights. We at TimeJust have opened up opportunities for many young people who want to get started in the world of journalism and have come out of here with great articles, interviews with celebrities of all kinds, invitations to events... There is no better way to open up a world of opportunities than information on the net. However, you have to be careful, very flexible and know that the beginnings are much harder.


"Online journalism has helped us not to leave the power of information to the same old people"

Q: Is everyone good at online journalism, and what qualities do you consider to be the minimum to enter the industry?


A: Well, clearly not everyone can do online journalism. This is important. Journalism, wherever it is practiced, must be done by journalists. Not just anyone can take and open an online news portal, or if they can that will be something else, but not journalism. Journalism requires a certain knowledge and a certain professionalism for which you have to be prepared. And online journalism in particular requires a lot of flexibility, perseverance, courage in trying to be the best in this pack of voracious competition, minimum technological knowledge, like knowing how to handle social networks, web platforms, minimum knowledge in SEO, etc. With all that and gaining the experience, being very bold and very smart, I don't see why someone couldn't make great strides in online journalism.


Q: What aspects of online journalism still need to be improved?


A: Very good and difficult question. I think the changes that online journalism in general needs to have are mostly in the hands of technological progress, something that we can't yet imagine but that is possible in the future, as the Internet was in the last century. And that is out of the hands of journalists.


However, as an online journalist, I do put a lot of emphasis on improving the issue of "fake news". I know it is something that is present in the public debate. The problem of hoaxes and manipulation is something that may have existed before online journalism, but in the last decade it has managed to tarnish the name of online journalism. Checking all our sources and not focusing so much on what X person has said on social networks is something that should be natural but that not all "professionals", to call them something, in this world apply when practicing online journalism. Here we have to be equally or even more rigorous if possible.


So, to sum up, I would say that there is still a lot of room for improvement in terms of "fake news" and the relationship between online journalism and social networks. In fact, I would also add that there is still room for improvement in the way in which online media reach our audience. That of notifying new content, improving SEO, etc.


"Not everyone can do online journalism. Journalism, wherever is practiced, must be done by journalists"

Q: Will these new forms of journalism, such as newsletters, online notifications or information via Twitch, displace traditional forms of journalism?


A: It is a reality that young people are consuming less and less the traditional ways of getting information. Fewer and fewer young people watch television, and even fewer watch the news. And despite the boom in podcasts, radio is not a popular way for young people to get information either. As you say in the question, Twitch is a very popular platform that could be exploited much more from online journalism. It would be a smart way to reach young people. Newsletters I think they have an older audience but it is also a good way of expansion that online media are practicing lately. And what is important is that reading four things on Twitter cannot replace the consumption of information. We have to work hard on that. Social networks are useful for online journalism to share our work and reach more people. But we need them to click and consume our work, not just the headline.


Therefore, I would dare to say that all these new ways of practicing journalism from the Internet I still do not think that they will replace traditional journalism, at least not audiovisual journalism, the paper is already more complicated. But when young people continue to grow and these forms continue to be ours, of course they will be able to unseat traditional journalism. That is why there is a lot of effort on the part of traditional media companies to gain ground in online journalism. It is the future, but increasingly, the present.

Comentarios


bottom of page